Chocolate Green Smoothie

image

This is my go-to smoothie! If I’m going to have a smoothie, $10 says it’s going to be this one! I love having this for breakfast as it keeps me full and makes me energised for the day but still leaves me feeling light.
It’s filled with benefits of cacao & spinach, and i make mine with coconut water which packs in some electrolytes for hydration. The best thing? It tastes like a chocolate milkshake or thickshake if you keep it thick like I do.

image

Raw cacao is higher in antioxidants than acai, spinach & blueberries.
– a source of protein, magnesium, iron, copper, zinc, calcium, vitamin c & b vitamins.
– can improve energy levels, mental wellbeing, digestion, blood circulation & cardiovascular function.
did you know? apparently adding dairy-milk to cacao deminishes the health benefits so always use a dairy free alternative such as almond, rice, oat or soy milk.

baby spinach is high in vitamin k & a, manganese, folate, magnesium, iron and copper and a source of b vitamins, vitamin c & e, calcium, fiber, zinc, protein & omega 3
– it’s loaded with flavonoids which protect the body from free-radicles preventing disease
– believed to contain anti-inflammatory properties
– good for eye & brain health

image

RECIPE:
2 – 3 frozen, ripe bananas
1 handful of spinach
250ml coconut water (can sub for water or dairy-free milk)
2 heaped tsp cacao power
dash of cinnamon
OPTIONAL:
1 tsp nut butter
1/2 tsp maca powder
1 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp blackstrap molasses (major source of iron!)

image

– add all the ingredients to a blender except the bananas.
I use a stick blender so I add individual broken pieces of banana and blend each one as i go. You may need to add more coconut water or liquid to achieve your desired consistency.

image

I love to serve mine in a bowl with some toppings eg. sliced banana or other fruits, granola, nuts, seeds, peanut butter, cacao nibs or coconut shreds.
I don’t add peanut butter to the smoothie, I love adding blobs on top and then when you stir it up and eat it out the bowl you get surprise peanut butter chunks! It’s sooo good!

One thought on “Chocolate Green Smoothie

  1. Yummy. I never knew the fact about adding dairy milk to cacao. Lucky I love almond milk and eat mostly dairy free, but I never would have known that! Thanks for sharing! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

